Contact Us
Facebook Twitter Instagram
Tel: 01526 398492

Use the form below to make a quick booking enquiry. Alternatively, you can get in touch with the following details:

Rural Roosts
Rural Roosts
Manor Farmhouse
Stainfield
Market Rasen
Lincolnshire LN8 5JJ
P: 01526 398492
M: 07712 771102

If you would like to make a more general enquiry, or a map to our location, click here.

Rural Roosts

Rural Roosts luxury lakeside lodges in Lincolnshire

Testimonials.

For guest photo’s, please see our Gallery page.

Here are a selection of reviews from our Visitors’ Books:

October 2017

4th visit to celebrate 60th Birthday. Beautiful setting, superb lodge with everything you need. Weather fantastic for time of year. Loved the extended decking area, perfectly safe for 3 and half year old and dog. Time of year meant not too many fish caught but fish caught were in lovely condition, fish in reservoir 16lbs plus. We all love coming here – thank you!

Hancox Family, Derby / London

Once again a lovely relaxing break at Rural Roosts. Doggies enjoyed lots of walks and we enjoyed the peace and quiet, fishing and hot tub. Our third time here and as always go home feeling refreshed, relaxed and happy! 🙂 Already looking into booking next visit. Thank you Katie and the team – as always everything so clean and tidy and the lemon drizzle cake and extras always appreciated. See you again soon!

Dickson family and doggies, Aiskew

We came to Lincolnshire to celebrate a ‘significant’ birthday and Swan Lodge has proved to be the perfect base from which to explore the area. As all the previous comments suggest, it truly is a ‘home from home’. Our highlights:- The beaches between Mablethorpe and Ingoldmels, doggie heaven at low tide. Lincoln Catherdral – utterly HUGE! The Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Center at East Kirkby. Especially if you’re lucky enough to enjoy a Lancaster bomber taxi run courtesy of your lovely wife!

Rich and Hil, Wiltshire

September 2017

Sketchy start to the fishing on the lake but Wednesday was brilliant on lodge lake with 10 carp caught and 2 tench including a stunning Koi. My sons had 29 carp from the reservoir, a maximum weighing 19lb 14oz. Lodge was immaculate with all the home comforts you could need and the hot tub was the icing on the cake. The weather was beautiful which made it all the better and the lemon cake was to die for, so much so we have taken 3 home. Thank you very much Katie and Tim. See you next year with the mother-in-law x

The Vernon Family, Staffordshire

August 2017

Came for the Steampunk Festival and fell in love with the setting. Beautiful lodges, clean with great amenities within a most idyllic setting. Have loved my stay here and 10 out of 10 for all the little extras that make all the difference.

Janette Booth, Fife

Our first visit but it will not be our last. A very relaxed and peaceful stay with Tony enjoying the fishing. The lodge is perfect, everything you need to make it a home from home plus more. Watching the birds around the lake was a delight. Everyone around the lake very very friendly – we will be taking lots of lovely memories back to Shropshire!

Gwen and Tony, Shropshire

July 2017

What a fabulous few days we’ve had, despite a couple of days of torrential rain – we wish we could stay longer. Respite from the real world, lovely lodge, very peaceful, nice walks with our puppy, husband enjoyed some fishing and we both enjoyed the hot tub. Slept in most mornings as did the puppy! Nice meal at Carpenters Arms – dogs allowed in bar and the beer garden. We only wished we had booked for longer and plan on coming again next year if not before. Thanks for making it such a lovely break x

Richard, Deborah and Stanley, Lincolnshire

June 2017

A truly awesome week with brilliant fishing in both the reservoir and lodge lakes. The wildlife was endlessly facinating with the highlight being a family of stoats playing under and around Lapwing Lodge. Tawny Lodge was perfect and the bed really comfy – made getting up to go fishing rather difficult. Never had a bad meal in any of the local pubs. A massive thanks to Katie and Tim for a brilliant holiday.

Bob and Mary, Coventry

First visit to Rural Roosts and totally blown away, what a fantastic place. Rex (Patterdale x Jack Russel Terrier) and myself have really enjoyed our walks around the site, I have never seen Rex so happy and excited. This is our first time I have been on holiday by myself and felt very comfortable and relaxed right away. We can’t wait to come back for our next holiday!

Dawn and Rex, Chesterfield

May 2017

Perfect 4 night stay – everything was so good. Katie and staff made us feel very welcome. Loved the lodge and walks, especially loved the hot tub and lemon drizzle cake – HEAVEN. Thursday night dinner at Carpenters Arms – heaven on a plate. 6am Friday morning, last dip in hot tub – good start to the day! Thanks Katie and Tim for PERFECT BREAK 🙂 Would recommend 100%, will come back with family next time.

Helen and Mick, Cambs

April 2017

We’ve lost count of the number of our visits – possibly 14/15? – and, as always our lodge was both spotless and welcoming on arrival. Within minutes we began unwinding and within the hour we were completely relaxed! The lake improvements look as thought they are going to be magnificent – well done! Can’t wait to start thinking about our Summer and Autumn visits. This visit we went to Kinema-in-the-Woods at Woodhall Spa – highly recommended, and don’t miss Just Desserts whilst at Woodhall – Best ice cream this side of Naples!

David, Janet, Tom and Beth, Nottingham

Another relaxing stay, first time in Woodpecker! See you in June for our 3rd visit this year and we think our 26th stay! Thanks Katie and staff as always x

Julie, Graeme and Poppy, Middlesbrough

March 2017

Just wow! The most beautiful, relaxing and homely retreat. Service from day 1 of enquiry was first class. To walk into such a beautiful place and be greeted with cake, fruit and other essentials was superb. From top to bottom the accommodation is simply stunning, the hot tub was my first experience and quite simply a little bit of heaven on earth! Price is very reasonable and certainly worth it, excellent value for money. I would recommend to anyone and this will be the first of many visits. Thank you, this has been very special.

Mr and Mrs Webster, Rotherham

This is our third stay at Rural Roosts, and the stay has been exceptional. Accommodation spotless, and as always has everything you need. A wonderful stay with our in-laws and we will be back again soon – the ideal weekend retreat! – Thank you x ps Lemon Drizzle – Bootiful!! See you soon 🙂

Lee, Andrea, Lorinda and Fred, Nottingham

February 2017

This is our first visit here. The surroundings and accommodation are brilliant – possibly one of our best and most relaxing short breaks ever. Will definitely recommend. Many thanks.

The Barkers, North East Lincs

This is our third visit to Swan Lodge and we absolutely love it here! The hot tub is fantastic, the peace and quiet is sublime and the lemon drizzle cake was very swiftly consumed! Thanks for another lovely weekend – we will be back!

Joanne and David, Nottingham

January 2017

A lovely restful four night stay in the depths of winter; we’ve had frost, fog and brilliant sunshine and enjoyed every minute. So much to see and do around here, but above all we have RELAXED. Thank you Katie and Tim for creating this delightful spot and for such a warm welcome.

John, Sue and Ben Sandford, Oxon

December 2015

A Christmas celebration to remember – your cabin was the ideal location for us all to get together and it was amazing! We hope to be back next year 🙂 Flash the dog loved it too!

Dr Morris and family, Nottingham

Another lovely stay at Rural Roosts, so relaxing and enjoyed celebrating our 47th Wedding Anniversary, especially enjoyed the hot tub. First time we have bought our pet border collie dog and she loved it too! Thank you for the lemon cake which was delicious and the other goodies too – a lovely gesture. We will be booking for next year as can’t think of any other place only down the road for us which is perfect for our needs. Thank you Katie, Tim and staff.

Shirley and Terry Wright, Horncastle

November 2015

Rural Roosts deserves its ‘Golden Award’ 100%. We are returning guests and it is always an Amazing Place to come. We are totally relaxed and have been in the hot tub even when it rained (it was so warm!) words cannot express our love of staying here and we will be looking to come back for sure next year. Thanks to Katie and her team x

Jo Reeder and family, North Lincolnshire

We visited the lodge for a long, chilled Birthday weekend for Peter and thoroughly enjoyed it! The setting is so peaceful and the lodge is really homely and cosy – perfect for the Autumn / Winter months. We made good use of the amazing hot tub and managed to fit in some walking and enjoy the local countryside, plus a visit to Lincoln. And of course…the lemon drizzle cake was yummy, thank you for our welcome pack 🙂 We would love to visit again – thanks for providing us with a lovely stay.

Clare and Peter, Nottingham

October 2015

Two words, “Thank you!” This was our second visit to Rural Roosts and we had a fantastic time staying for 7 nights at Little Owl Lodge and the weather has been superb – we have suntans!  As always the lodge is clean, spacious and has everything you need and more.  We have enjoyed lazy days up at the reservoir fishing.  Lee, being a sponsored angler, was very impressed with the quality of the fishing at the reservoir and had countless carp or various sizes over the space of the week.  We enjoyed early evening walks with our dog, Mylo, who was just as relaxed as us and loved every minute!  The hot-tub was relaxing and ended our days perfectly.  As I write this, we are very sad to be leaving and will definitely be returning next year.  Thank you to Katie and Tim and the Team, you have a fabulous destination for people to relax and unwind, “a little piece of heaven.”

Andrea Wesley, Nottingham

This is our first visit to Rural Roosts and it was a lovely relaxing five days.  A lovely Welcome Pack, especially the lemon drizzle cake.  Tony enjoyed the fishing and caught some big fish and I loved the hot-tub.  Ozzie enjoyed his walks too!  The lodge is very nice with everything you need.  We will be recommending you to our friends!  Hope to see you again.

Wendy, Tony (and Ozzie) Prentice, Rotherham

It has been lovely to find such a cosy, well equipped and well maintained cabin, especially a dog friendly one!  We have very much enjoyed our weekend; walking, exploring, eating and relaxing in the hot-tub – perfect…Great dog walks from the lodge, following the routes in the Guest Information File and also at Chambers Woods.  Thanks so much for the Welcome Pack, a lovely surprise!

Jenny Taylor, Scarborough

September 2015

Enjoyed our stay at Rural Roosts.  Couldn’t have asked for a better holiday.  Peaceful location.  Fishing brilliant.  Lodges perfect.  Hoping to return next April.  Katie and Tim should be very proud of what they have achieved here.  Thank you.

Mark and Annie Jackson/Yates, Preston

A great time was had by all.  The lodge was clean and well equipped; very comfortable.  Fishing was excellent, several 15-20lb carp.  The welcome pack was much appreciated!

Webster Family, South Yorkshire

We are two families meeting up to spend time with each other.  With four children under 5 we enjoyed exploring the farm on the bikes.  A very safe and tranquil place with beautiful surroundings.  We enjoyed a lovely few days in Kingfisher Lodge, which was perfect for our little families.  We hope to visit again.  Thank you very much.

Powell and Dawes families, Colchester and South Cave

August 2015

This is our first visit to Rural Roosts and it will not be our last.  It’s a fantastic place and an even better setting.  The lodge has everything and more.  We wanted peace, tranquillity, walks, nature and a hot-tub and that’s exactly what we got.  We were greeted with a smile and a cake which is always a good start.  From then on our holiday only got better.  We played all the games available in the information centre, even when we had a rainy day, we just grabbed a DVD from there and settled in on the sofa until the weather picked up.  All in all, we had an amazing time!  Would we come again? 100% yes.  Would we recommend to friends and family? Yes!  We will be back soon!

The Miall Family, Grimsby

We have had the best holiday ever.  Everything has been perfect.  The hot-tub at night in the dark was beautiful with the lights.  We really enjoyed the walks and saw lots of wildlife.  We’ve loved every minute! Thank you x.

The Millott Family, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire

July 2015

Another fantastic stay.  The fishing has been brilliant – we have recharged our batteries although the hottest day of the year so far left us flagging – but a quick dip in the hot-tub which we cooled down – gave us our energy back!  The baby swans are so cute!  See you next year!

The Bottomleys, Cleckheaton

Our first time at Rural Roosts but it certainly won’t be the last.  We enjoyed every moment of our stay and even the weather was perfect.  The lodge was everything we were hoping for and more.  Already looking forward to next time.

The Atkins, Mansfield

Lovely week in this beautiful lodge.  Everything you need provided and thank you for the welcoming goodies and the lovely homemade lemon drizzle cake…so nice we bought 2 more!  Beautiful surroundings and lovely dog walks.  We also bought a breakfast hamper from Primrose foods which was already here when we arrived.  The little shop is very handy with more homemade and local goodies…We hope to return sometime soon.

The Mills, Bedfordshire

June 2015

OMG!! We have found a little bit of “Paradise” in Lincolnshire!  My brother and his wife have stayed here 5-6 times and rave about this place, so we thought we would come and have a look for ourselves.  They certainly described it as it is: “A truly remarkable place that offers all the comforts of home and much, much more!  All the little extras; tea, coffee, fruit, crusty bread, butter, milk and the all important Lemon Drizzle Cake were greatly appreciated!  The hot-tub was an added bonus too!  We both needed a well-earned rest and that is what we got.

We also took advantage of the “Breakfast in a Box” and enjoyed all the local produce and we pushed the boat out and booked “My Personal Sanctuary” who came to Swan Lodge and gave us both a massage.  Another truly wonderful experience, made all the more relaxing, by not having to drive home afterwards.  Such a good idea and we would recommend it to fellow guests.

We shall be leaving Swan Lodge and Rural Roosts too soon, but with very fond memories and the desire to return soon.  Thank you so much Katie and Tim and all your team for a truly relaxing break away.  You have a wonderful place here, you all should feel very proud.  Many, many thanks.

Del and Ali Bateman, Oxfordshire 

We have stayed in many lodges in many places and this lodge and location is by far the best!! Katie and Tim have thought of everything, the welcome pack was fantastic and very informative.  The fishing was good and we didn’t even have time to fish the reservoir…this will be something for next year!  If it’s peace and quiet your after, then this is the place for you!!  See you next year, or sooner.  Best wishes.

The Steele Family, Bedford

May 2015

We’ve enjoyed our stay and Swan Lodge ticked all the right boxes for us.  The hot-tub under the stars…amazing!!  Lovely touches throughout, lemon drizzle cake, to fruit, tea, coffee, etc…all very welcoming.  Came here to relax and spend some time on our own whilst visiting the city of Lincoln and watching the wildlife around the area.  We will recommend Rural Roosts to our family.  Thank you.

Peter and Barbara Arnall

This is our first time at Rural Roosts and we are definitely going to be back! The hot-tub was great for the kids (and us too) and the little personal touches when we arrived at the lodge were great.  The lemon drizzle cake is amazing, we’ve ended up taking another four home with us!  The farm walks were perfect for our dog Lara and gave us the opportunity to see some stunning views.  During our time at Rural Roosts, the amount of wildlife we’ve seen has been phenomenal…we absolutely love it here!

Andrea & Nick, Great Ayton, N.Yorkshire

The holiday has been excellent.  A beautiful place, relaxing and a wonderfully clean lodge alongwith very well-kept grounds.  The most relaxing holiday ever.  Hope all experience the same.  Thank you.

Maureen and Michael Armes, Thurgoland, Sheffield

April 2015

What a beautiful relaxing first time at Rural Roosts.  Very clean, cosy and well equipped lodge.  Welcome pack was a lovely surprise!  Lemon drizzle cake lasted 10 minutes!  Boys enjoyed the play area, especially the zip wire.  Fishing was very good & very relaxing.  Hot-tub was fab… Only downside was we had to leave.

Dene, Lou, Alex & May, Broomfield, East Yorkshire

March 2015

Arrived and fished on the lake until darkness fell.  We were totally blown away by the beauty of the lodge and environment.  So much so that we booked another lodge the next day for August.  The hot-tub was amazing, especially looking up to the beautiful clear night sky at the stars…Everything was perfection and we couldn’t ask for a more beautiful place to stay and relax.  P.S. Night fished last night and caught the huge gold fish and 3 carp…what a way to end the perfect holiday!

Sam and Dan, Hull

February 2015

What a great, relaxing, worry-free week we’ve had!  We had high expectations that were quickly surpassed upon arrival.  Everything we could have possibly needed was provided and we really enjoyed the options for all the local walks.  The hot-tub was brilliant to come back to each day – a perfect place to enjoy the sunset!  Thank you for doing what you do – we’ll be back!

Chelsea Sandbrook, Nottinghamshire

Our first visit to Rural Roosts and we would definitely return.  The lodge was beautiful and very well maintained.  A gorgeous, peaceful area and just what was need to re-charge our batteries.  We loved all the extra personal touches and would hope to return again in the future.

Michelle Riley, Blackpool

Within just an hour of being here we were all so relaxed as it is so lovely and peaceful.  Luckily the weather held out for us so we managed to explore and get out on plenty of walks and visits… The rest of the time was filled up with games, baking in the well equipped kitchen, dips in the hot-tub and watching DVD’s.  This place is such a “haven”.  Already planning our next visit and possibly fetching a couple of rods to fish with the girls.  A little gem which I have already recommended to lots of friends and family. x

Casie Cass, Grimsby

January 2015

We have only been here 10 minutes and we are already over the moon and looking forward to our stay!  Justine – so helpful and responds so quickly.  AMAZING place!  The cake is so lovely, thank you so much.  What a lovely welcome Katie.

It’s the end of our lovely weekend away and we will be back!  Everything is so perfect and also so peaceful. We really have enjoyed our weekend away.  Thank you so much!

Chloe Vilums and Danny Wright, Mansfield

December 2014

We have stayed at Rural Roosts several times and it never fails to delight us.  It is so “user-friendly” with everything provided.  Winnie (our Basset) joined us here on Christmas Eve and made our holiday complete.  We found lovely walks and great relaxation on our return to the hot-tub each day.  Thanks Tim and Katie and your staff for making it great again!

Jill and Jon Kent, Winnie the Basset Hound, Oxfordshire

November 2014

We have had a wonderful few days to recharge our batteries!  The scenery was lovely and the weather was perfect…ideal weather for relaxing in the amazing hot-tub on a cold, dark night!  The lemon drizzle cake is to die for, such a lovely extra treat!  All in all a fantastic few days, we hope to come back again next year!

Edward Hutton, Coventry

October 2014

Once again a fantastic, lovely break.  This is our 4th visit and we will be back again.  The lodges are the perfect place to stay and have everything you need.  We have stayed in many lodges but Rural Roosts is by far the best.  Our perfect getaway.  Thank you!

Jayne & Mick Bell, Rotherham

What a lovely 4 day break!!  Everything has been perfect, 5+ star on everything.  From welcome pack on arrival (lemon cake…mmm) to absolutely everything else.

Sue Athorn and Rob, Hessle, Hull

We have had an AMAZING stay here.  Everything was perfect.  100%, 5 star!  We will definitely be staying again.  Thank you!

Ian Brougham and Claire, Liverpool

We have had a wonderful stay.  From start to finish, from the cabin to the fishing to the hot-tub to the lemon-drizzle cake!  We will be back!  Thank you x

Tracey and Lee Reece, Manchester

September 2014

Everything spot on, cannot find fault.  Lovely surroundings.  Enjoying it very much, so relaxing.  Many thanks for the welcome pack.  Fantastic place to stay…Hot tub was great, would recommend and will be back!

Gordon & Jennifer Gill, Wakefield

We have stayed at Rural Roosts 6 or 7 times now including only 6 weeks ago.  We love it here.  This is our first time in Swan Lodge…and it is a fantastic lodge…the lemon drizzle cake was fab, the cabin is fully equipped and the hot tub a real bonus…The cabins are exceptionally clean and Andy caught some great fish!

Andy and Diane Carroll, Cheshire

August 2014

For my wife and I, this was our fifth time at Rural Roosts but for my sister in law and her friend, it was their first. Upon arrival we entered Tawny Lodge to find that the lodge was spotless and the wonderful welcome hamper was ready to be attacked especially your famous lemon drizzle cake. Being a male, I immediately readied my fishing gear and was actually pulling the fish out of the lake within thirty minutes of arrival. The ladies unpacked and then decided to venture on one of the walks highlighted in the instruction folder in the lodge.  It was a joy sitting on the veranda watching the wildlife, enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the location and just letting the world pass by.  Everything was first class, we wanted for nothing and I have no hesitation in recommending Rural Roosts to anyone looking forward to a holiday that will recharge the batteries and heighten their enjoyment of the wonderful countryside. Five days of wonderful serenity and we look forward to seeing you again in October. Thank you again.

Roy Pesterfield, Spalding

Thank you Katie and Tim for the most relaxing weekend we have ever had to celebrate Lee’s birthday.  The cabin is spotless and spacious with everything you need to feel “at home”.  The kitchen is well stocked with all the essentials and the lemon drizzle cake gets a thumbs up from Lee who loves homemade cakes – delicious! Even Mylo our Staffie was relaxed, the best we’ve seen him, he loved the lakeside walks.  Lee being a big carp fisherman loved the easy afternoons by the lake, ideal being on our doorstep.  The icing on the cake has to be the hot-tub and a glass of vino (in the plastic glasses provided) which made a relaxing finish to a wonderful day on the decking.  Once again thank you, your accommodation is 5 star and we look forward to our next visit when we hope to stay for a full week.  See you in 2015!

Andrea, Lee and Mylo (the Staffie), Carlton, Nottinghamshire

July 2014

Our fourth visit (we searched for other places but could find nothing to compare) and as usual have had a lovely relaxing time. The addition of the hot-tub is great.  I saw a kingfisher which made my visit!!  I have a feeling we will be back!

Gary and Helen Suttle and Maddy the dog, Luton, Bedfordshire

June 2014

Wonderful lodge, stunning views across the lake and very peaceful. Enjoyed evenings on decking watching birds feeding and rabbits playing…!

Carla and David Charlesworth, Gainsborough

Our first time to Rural Roosts.  The log cabins and surroundings were fantastic, really peaceful and relaxing. Fishing was good and there is plenty of wildlife.  Our three year old daughter loves it. We will definitely be back next year, thanks for a great holiday!

Richard, Mary and Ashlea Judd, York

This was our first visit to Rural Roosts and I can honestly say it won’t be our last.   We got married on Saturday and wanted a few nights away for just the two of us.  I wish now that we had booked for longer!  This place is truly amazing, we have fallen in love with it. The small personal touches did not go unnoticed. Thank you for the cake, fruit, milk, bread and even the tea, coffee and sugar caddies were full.  The hot-tub is so nice I want one at home. We hope to come back soon…

Stacey and Nathan Tucker, Enderby, Leicester

May 2014

A little bit of heaven here on Earth.  Great accommodation, beautiful setting and just so peaceful and relaxing.  Hubby enjoyed the fishing and I got to finish all my books.  Had an amazing short break.  Would definitely return and recommend to family and friends. Thank you.

Bob and Mary, Coventry

On our second visit to Rural Roosts…we thought our first holiday was wonderful, a bit of a dream?  It is now apparent that staying here for a wonderful holiday is a reality and we had a wonderful time yet again.  We are already planning for our next visit.  Thank you again “Woof!  Woof!”  “Great holiday!” from Jack the Lab.

Andy and Mandy and Jack, Hornsea

March 2014

Our second trip and it was as amazing as anticipated.  Beautifully maintained, excellent cleanliness, the hot-tub was heaven and the cake and supplies on arrival are the perfect touches.  We have already booked to spend New Year here.  Absolutely sublime!!  Thank you.

Stephen, Emma and Milo, Bollington, Cheshire

Beautiful open plan cottage, love the space.  Wife wants to keep the sofas.  Very peaceful and relaxing, shame we have to go back to reality.  The hot-tub is very tranquil in the evening to relax in under the stars.  Thanks for a lovely time, enjoyed the cake and bread.  Hope to see you again soon.

The Hendersons, Lincoln

What can we say but “Wow”.  This was a Christmas present for us from our daughters.  Our first time here.  Winnie our old lad has been poorly for a few weeks … a weekend here and he’s like a pup again!  The cabin, facilities and all the little things like bread, milk, butter, fruit and, of course, “Lemon Drizzle Cake” that were left for us was just icing on the cake.  Hot tub was “amazeballs”, the whole thing deserves “PLATINUM” award.  Will definitely be coming again.

Dave and Vicky Harris and Winston, Ilkeston, Derbyshire

February 2014

After booking this break very last minute we arrived late on Friday evening.  We were immediately amazed at the size of the cottage and the quality.  There was everything we would ever need.  Over the next few days we have explored the grounds and they are spectacular, lots of different wildlife and lots of peace and quiet.  Molly was in her element.  The lemon cake was delicious.  The hot-tub was the cherry on top!  We hope to be back again later in the year.

The Arbons, Lincolnshire

Four adults and four children had a great time.  The log cabin is first class!  Even with eight people we didn’t feel crowded. The lounge and kitchen areas make for a fantastic gathering place for meals and playing games.  Love the location and we all enjoyed the walks, spotting wildlife.  Can’t wait to return!

Motleys and Ramsays, Chesterfield

What beautiful, peaceful surroundings.  A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a cosy, comfy, well-equipped lodge.  You have thought of everything, even arranged the weather for us!  Thank you, we hope to come back.

The Clemetts and Hopkins, South Wales

Thank you.  Lovely accommodation, peaceful and welcoming, great location, peaceful and welcoming. Super hospitality and without doubt a must-do again!  Cannot fault what you have developed and achieved here.  It is without doubt a great place.  Hopefully we will be back to enjoy it again!

Twigg Family, Cheshire

We have stayed in lots of lodges but this one surpassed all the others, the attention to detail and comfort and beautiful surroundings made it into a wonderful short break.  The lemon drizzle cake and the other provisions provided were very welcome!  Thanks to Katie and Tim for providing everything we needed for a relaxing break.

The Evans, Cambridgeshire

Thank you so much for the cabin, it is so well equipped and we’ve had the perfect week.  It is such a peaceful location and relaxing in the hot-tub really topped it off!  Thanks!

Hannah and Chris, Norfolk and Worksop

Our 4th visit and again it has been just what we wanted. We come to relax and fish.  Over the 3 days we caught: 13 good sized carp, all around 4-5 lbs and 2 bream… Very enjoyable and the lodge was a very comfortable refuge when the weather turned.  We will be back, thank-you.

John and Michael Connor, Lancashire

Absolutely fabulous lodge, loads of room for the twins and a beautiful location.  Thank you so much Katie for a wonderful stay!

Pat Mills, Bedford

We have had the best few days away, so relaxing and the cabin was beautiful.  Darryll proposed to me on the first night here which made the break even more special.  The hot tub was amazing, we really did enjoy our stay.  We will definitely be coming back.  Thank you.

Sarah and Darryll, Birmingham

We had never been to a log cabin before and did not know what to expect. As for would it accommodate all our needs, the lodge did not let us down!!  It was a beautiful, clean, spacious warm cabin.  Just perfect for a short break or longer to get away from the bustle of city life…  All in all, we had a fantastic time, just what we all needed. We will be coming back for another weekend or week.

Wood Family, Leicester

January 2014

Very relaxing long weekend, in beautiful surroundings with good food, wine and the hot-tub.  Very well equipped cottage with everything you could possibly need.  We will recommend to family and friends and will definitely be returning.

Dave, Heather, Billy and Donna, Rotherham, South Yorkshire

Without a doubt, the best equipped lodge we have stayed in… The hot tub is wonderful, even when the weather is misty and dull.  I am not very steady on my feet and was a bit wary of getting in and out, but managed quite easily. We hope to return soon with all the family.  I know the grandsons love it here and would like my two grand-daughters to have the same pleasure.  Our thanks to Katie and Tim.                                                The Edwards and Watsons, Grimsby

This has been our first visit to Rural Roosts and while here we have already planned our next stay, only next time it will be for a whole week, as three nights has simply not been enough! As I write this I am looking at the slowly fading light outside. There are sheep in the distance and moorhens and coots on the lake and wandering near Swan Lodge verandah. The trees in the distance are gently swaying in the cool breeze. Who couldn’t relax in such beautiful surroundings, staying in such lovely accommodation? The attention to detail has been fantastic from the amazing cake and provisions upon arrival to the thought that has gone into furnishing the lodge. We have stayed in lodges elsewhere but this one is the very best of them. Star-gazing around the site is fantastic – we have never found a place so unaffected by light-pollution…star-gazing whilst in the hot tub with frost on the ground everywhere was surreal but amazing!
Thank you Katie and Tim for everything. Recommending Rural Roosts to friends and family will be a pleasure. See you soon.

The Reynolds, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire

December 2013

Had an amazing stay, accommodation was warm, cosy and very spacious, no stone was left unturned with the personal touch. The lemon drizzle cake was very tasty, nyum, nyum! The playground in the woods was much enjoyed by the kids and adults alike.
We all enjoyed being able to see, touch and feed the sheep and lambs. We had enjoyable bike rides around the farm grounds.
Thank you Tim and Katie, we will hope to be back again.
The Barnes, Sidcup, Kent

I was blown away by the amazing cottage when we arrived: huge, clean and very well stocked. The little touches are amazing. Bread, milk, cake (yum!!). The grounds are really nice and it was great seeing all the little lambs (kids loved it). We ordered food from the Golden Kerry (Chinese) and it was very good. We will be back in Summer. Well done Katie, your cottages and lodges are amazing and you do a very good job. See you again soon!!
The Collier Family, Bolton, Greater Manchester

October 2013

We had a lovely mini break. The lodge was everything we hoped for and more and much better stocked with little extras than anticipated (dishwasher tabs, salt, pepper, etc.). The boys enjoyed fishing the reservoir, catching five fish between them and losing as many too. We all enjoyed walks around the site and the relaxing atmosphere. Unfortunately, we came when Katie and Tim were away so didn’t get to meet them, and were not met at our lodge on arrival. A minor negative on a lovely break. We will be back.
The Yellands, Waddington

Lovely chalet, very nice and warm, thanks for cake and refreshments, really needed after having a long journey. Hope to return soon! Ryan my dog loved the walks, first time we have been able to bring him on holiday because not many places will take dogs. Thank You.
Mr and Mrs Miles, Falmouth, Cornwall

We will definitely be visiting again, we had a lovely time and the accommodation is fantastic as well as the setting. See you soon.
The Stumbles, Falmouth, Cornwall

Another enjoyable stay. Going home relaxed as usual. Fishing good at reservoir. Good walking. Accommodation fantastic as usual. Don’t want to go home. Hopefully see you next year (been three times this year!!!) Thanks Katie and Tim. Xx
The Pinkneys, Keighley, West Yorkshire

 

Click one of the images to view in full size.